Roman Huzar

23 september 2019 year

Роман Гузар

1. Tell about yourself. Why did you choose 3D graphics

Hello everyone! My name is Roman, I am 27 years old and I live in the city of Lviv (Ukraine). Since childhood, I was fond of everything related to architecture and art, since I grew up in a creative family. My father was an artist, and my grandfather was an architect, to some extent thanks to them I am who I am now. At an early age, I did not think about what I would do in the field of CGI, I just loved to draw and think of something. Even in the lessons at school, if it was already very boring, I drew concepts of cars and all that :)

2. How was the training schedule?

My very first acquaintance with 3D graphics was the pro100 program (maybe someone knows, write in the comments), it was mainly for working with fittings, but I did the first visualization in it. I liked the 3D graphics and I went further, I started working in sketch up, I really liked him. A simple and understandable program for beginners (for those who are afraid to open 3D max for the first time) all the training took place on their own, according to various video lessons on Youtube, forums, communication with other people. Then I realized that I needed to switch to something serious, that result ceased to suit me. I saw a lot of other cool work and I wanted the same. And thanks to Corona Renderer, it just came out then, I instantly moved to 3ds max, it turned out not to be as scary as I imagined.

Эскиз

One of my children's sketches

In the beginning, training also took place independently. I watched video tutorials mainly from Artem Kupriyanenko. And then one fine day I saw that a contest was being held from cg incubator where the winner would be able to take free training at their school. I thought, why not. It was 2 sleepless nights, first you had to come up with an idea, write a text and mount it all. There was no time for this in the afternoon, since at that time I already had orders from freelance. I sent a video to the contest and was waiting for the result, it was difficult but the expectations were met. I won this contest, there was a lot of joy, but I had to get as high as possible and squeeze the maximum out of the course, which I did.

Thanks a lot to Artyom Kupriyanenko and the CG INCUBATOR school, for me it was a very important stage in my growth as a CG artist and they helped me a lot in this.

3. Why did you choose freelance work in the studio?

I have experience at Suburbia Studio. This was the first such serious step for me to work in the office with the team. It is a pity that he did not succeed in anything good and had to leave there. But for that I got a good experience.

And freelance is a kind of freedom. You create a schedule for yourself, communicate with the client yourself, look for an approach and control the whole process. It’s difficult to do everything qualitatively alone, it takes a lot of time, but that’s where it all starts :)

This is, if I may say so, the buffer zone for the artist. I like this rhythm of life, but I need to move on.

Subway

4. Tell me how you are looking for clients? What are you focusing on?

I used to take all the projects. But one day I realized that I didn’t want it that way, I want cool projects, cool customers and I started writing them myself. I went to archdaily to select architects, the studios made a table in which I entered their data (website, mail, etc.) I composed a letter with a proposal and modified it a little for each. At that time I bought a domain and I had my own website with a portfolio that I made myself with templates. It was called anotherender.pro, now it is probably not alive anymore)

And so I sent a few letters a day. Of the 200 letters, only 3 responded, it is small but it is still the result, I was very happy) I started working with an architect from Brazil, he constantly supplied me with work and we had a good attitude. And in general, everything turned out very interesting for us. He answered me in the mail that he looked at my portfolio and would like to do with me one project, so to speak, a test, for verification. I agreed, but we did not agree a bit on the price. He did not want to pay me as much as I requested and I made him a counter offer that looked like this:

“I do one 3D visualization for you, if you don’t like it, you don’t pay anything for it for me, and if you like it, you pay as agreed.” And he agreed! it was a risk for me, then I did not sleep all night, I wanted to do everything as much as I could. And what do you think? He paid me and even at the end of the project he threw it from above for my attitude and such a non-standard offer for him)

And all this I mean, we are artists, and in the foreground we should have an approach and a desire to do everything qualitatively and beautifully without chasing a monetary reward. If the customer is good, he will see it and will appreciate it. For them it is important.

5. Do you know foreign languages? Do freelancers need them today?

I always use a translator (and as we know, translators sometimes work very crookedly). I know English well by ear, reading and understanding are also no problem. But when it comes to saying something, building a dialogue or writing, everything is very bad here. But I'm working on it. Foreign languages ​​are certainly very important, English alone is more than enough, especially if you work with foreign customers it’s just “must know”

Therefore, do not regret investing money in development and training, this is very important. And if they are not, then you can learn yourself on the Internet a lot of free lessons and teachers, online schools, etc. The main thing is desire.

NYC apartment

6. What projects do you like to do the most?

At first it was interiors, I was afraid to make exteriors, I thought that it was difficult and I didn’t yet know what Corona Scatter and Forest Pack were. But now I can say that if you choose between the exterior and interior, I will choose the exterior. But it also depends on desire and mood, if you work yourself, you have the right to choose. Sometimes you want to do interiors, sometimes vice versa, you need to keep a balance. It’s good when there is one and the other in one project, it looks larger and more elaborate.

7. Where are you looking for inspiration for your work?

Everything is probably standard as with all artists:

Behance

Art station

Instagram

Arch-daily

Ronen Bekerman

3ddd

Dezeen

Leibal

CG Award ua

There are also many different photographers (Kim holtermand, Annabell Kutucu, etc.) I spend a lot of time on stocks with photos, there are a lot of interesting things.

8. Do you continue to improve your skills? Level up? How? Lessons, conferences.

Oh sure. I am in constant development, this is an area where you can’t stop) you need to constantly improve and grow. On the contrary, if you stop for too long, the guys will come cooler than you in your place and you will have to catch up with them. Every day, someone is doing better and better.

There are actually many ways, everyone chooses for himself convenient. Someone likes self-development, someone only in courses with teachers. There are many options, the main thing is to have a desire. Now more and more various events are held on the topic of CG and on each one you can learn something new for yourself, chat with interesting people, share experience and just have a good time. I hope this trend continues.

LAKE HOUSE

9. What is a freelancer in Ukraine? Advantages and disadvantages.

I can not answer this question now. To be honest, I have not been in the Ukrainian freelance market for a long time and now I do not work on it. It was at the very beginning and for me it seemed normal. But when I worked with foreign customers, I realized that the difference is big, firstly in relation and secondly in price. Now I don’t know what the situation is on the Ukrainian market, but I want to believe that it is changing in a good direction, including thanks to such sites as cgaward.com.ua

10. Have you had any suggestions to leave to work abroad? If so, why stayed.

Yes, they come from time to time, recently often, there are interesting offers but with their own catch. I have priority studios in which I would agree to work, but I still need to work on my portfolio to get there. Therefore, I try not to focus particularly on each proposal and carefully relate to this issue.

11. How do you prefer to spend free time from work? Sport, travel.

Recently, very little free time, constantly doing something. In fact, even when I just paint for myself - I rest, for me it is a good pastime. But besides this, I try to lead an active lifestyle: Sports hall, walks, outdoor recreation and communication with other people are not from the field of architectural visualization. From time to time you need to be distracted, it is useful not to burn out. And development should be diversified, a lot more interesting things can be found for yourself and use it in our field. I love experimenting and trying something new.

CROPLAND

12. What do you strive for in your work. What peaks, results?

There is always a desire to be better, to be better now, every day. To do this, you need to work on yourself and study. I always set myself a high bar and try to come to it, sometimes I have to sacrifice something, give up a lot, but I understand why all this is for. As such, there is no Top, I am not going to dwell on something, there is a desire to be better every day, and then we'll see.

13. Wishes, advices and parting words to the audience.

Thanks to everyone who read it to the end)

I hope you were interested and you learned something from this interview. I would like to wish everyone cool renderings and not to forget that we are actually artists and it is worth investing something creative and artistic in each project. It looks very cool and vibrant. And do not be afraid to experiment and try something new, this is also very important.

Good to all!

And thanks to the cgaward.com.ua team for the opportunity

GORGE

Link to Roman's portfolio: https://www.behance.net/huzaroman

Share with friends
Views: 923

Comments
17.02.2020 20:10
Супер! Очень полезно!
Loginto vote or comment
Read more
Anna Fedyukina

Anna Fedyukina

Each artist should work on his personal style, find a non-standard approach to visualization. Do not try to copy other artists. Do not stop there, continue to learn new things, and not only in the field of 3D graphics. Broaden your horizons.

20 may
Vladyslava Torhonska

Vladyslava Torhonska

The first girl in the interview section. CG artist with an architectural education Vladislavs Torgonskaya from Kharkov (Ukraine).

My passion for 3D graphics began while studying at the Kharkov Art College, and since then 3D visualization has been an integral part of my life.

03 march
Artem Lutai | INVIZ Studio

Artem Lutai | INVIZ Studio

This time, our interlocutor is a very cool digital artist from Ukraine, the city of Zhytomyr, Artem Lutay. Co-founder of INVIZ architectural 3d visualization studio. Winner of international prizes as well as the winner of the best work in February in our competition. Artem shared with us interesting facts and experience from his biography, which will be useful to our readers.

18 june 2019 year
Your vote counted

Роман Гузар

23 сентября, понедельник

Роман Гузар

1. Расскажи о себе. Почему ты выбрал 3д графику

Всем привет! Меня зовут Роман, мне 27 лет и я живу в городе Львов (Украина). Ещё с детства я увлекался всем, что связно с архитектурой и искусством, так как я рос в творческой семье. Мой отец был художником, а дедушка архитектором, в какой-то степени благодаря им я тот, кем являюсь сейчас. В раннем возрасте я не думал о том что буду заниматься чем то в сфере CGI , я просто любил рисовать и что-то придумывать. Даже на уроках в школе, если было уж очень скучно я рисовал концепты автомобилей и всякое такое :)

2. Как проходило обучение графике?

Самое первое мое знакомство - это была программа pro100 (может кто ее знает, напишите в комментариях ) она в основном для работы с фурнитурой, но первую визуализацию я делал именно в ней. Мне понравилась 3Д графика и я пошёл дальше, я начал работать в sketch up, мне он очень нравился. Простая и понятная программа для начинающих (для тех кто боится открывать 3д макс в первый раз) все обучение проходило самостоятельно, по разным видео урокам на Youtube, форумам, общению с другими людьми. Потом я понял, что нужно переходить на что-то серьезное, меня перестал устраивать тот результат. Я видел много других крутых работ и мне хотелось так же. И вот благодаря corona renderer, она ещё тогда только вышла, я моментально пересел на 3ds max, это оказалось не так страшно как я себе представлял.

Эскиз

Один из моих детских эскизов

Вначале обучение так же проходило самостоятельно, туториалы в основном видео Артема Куприяненко. И вот в один прекрасный день я увидел что проводиться конкурс от cg incubator где победитель сможет пройти бесплатное обучение у них школе. Я подумал, а почему бы и нет. Это были 2 бессонные ночи, сначала нужно было придумать идею, написать текст и смонтировать это все, днём для этого не было времени, так как у меня на то время уже были заказы с фриланса. Я отправил видео на конкурс и ждал результата, было сложно но ожидание оправдались. Я победил в этом конкурсе, радости было много, но нужно было собраться по максимуму и выжать из курса максимум, что я и сделал.

Спасибо большое Артёму Куприяненко и школе CG INCUBATOR, для меня это был очень важный этап в моем росте CG-художника и они мне в этом очень помогли.

3. Почему ты выбрал фриланс работе в студии?

У меня есть опыт работы в Suburbia Studio. Это был первый такой серьезный шаг для меня поработать в офисе с командой, жаль, что он не увенчался ничем хорошим и пришлось уйти оттуда. Но за то я получил хороший опыт.

А фриланс это своего рода свобода, ты сам себе составляешь график, сам общаешься с клиентом, ищешь подход и контролируешь весь процесс. Это сложно все сделать качественно одному, на это уходит очень много времени, но с этого все и начинается:)

Это если можно так сказать буферная зона для артиста. Мне нравится такой ритм жизни, но нужно двигаться дальше.

Subway

4. Расскажи как ты ищешь клиентов? На что делаешь упор при этом?

Раньше я брал все подряд, что предлагали то и брал, сколько давали столько было хорошо) Но в один день я понял что не хочу так, я хочу крутые проекты, крутых заказчиков и я начал сам им писать. Я заходил на archdaily выбирал архитекторов, студии делал таблицу в которую вносил их данные (сайт, почту и тд) Составлял письмо с предложением и уже под каждого немного его видоизменял. На то время я купил себе домен и у меня был свой сайт с портфолио который я делал сам с шаблонов. Назывался он anotherender.pro, сейчас он уже не живой наверное)

И вот я отправлял по несколько писем в день. Приблизительно из 200 писем отозвались только 3, это мало но это все равно результат, я был очень рад) Я начал работать с архитектором из Бразилии, он постоянно снабжал меня работой и у нас были хорошие отношение. И вообще у нас очень интересно все получилось. Он ответил мне на почту, что посмотрел мой портфель и хотел бы сделать со мной один проект, так сказать тестовый, для проверки Я согласился но мы немножко не сошлись в цене, он не хотел платить мне столько сколько я запросил и я сделал ему встречное предложение которое выглядело следующим образом:

«Я делаю вам одну картинку, если она вам не понравится, вы ничего мне за неё не платите, а если она вам понравиться то оплачиваете как договаривались». И он согласился! это был риск для меня, я тогда всю ночь не спал, хотел сделать все максимально что было в моих силах. И что думаете? Он заплатил мне и даже в конце проекта ещё сверху накинул за мое отношение и такое нестандартное для него предложение)

А все это я к тому что, мы художники и на первом плане у нас должен быть подход и желание сделать все качественно и красиво не гонясь при этом за денежное вознаграждение. Если заказчик хороший, он это увидит и будет ценить. Для них это важно.

5. Знаешь ли ты иностранные языки? Нужны ли они фрилансеру сегодня?

Для меня это больная тема, я всегда пользуюсь переводчиком ( а как мы знаем, переводчики иногда очень криво работают ) Английский я знаю хорошо на слух, читать и понимать тоже нет проблем. Но вот когда дело доходит до того чтобы что-то сказать, построить диалог или написать то тут все очень плохо. Но я над этим работаю ) Иностранные языки безусловно очень важны, одного английского более чем достаточно, тем более если ты работаешь с иностранными заказчиками это просто “must know”

Поэтому не жалейте вкладывать деньги в развитие и обучение, это очень важно. А если их нет, то можно и самому научиться в интернете масса бесплатных уроков и преподавателей, онлайн школ и тд. Главное желание.

NYC apartment

6. Какие проекты ты любишь делать больше всего?

Изначально это были интерьеры, я боялся делать экстерьеры, думал что это сложно и я тогда ещё не знал что такое corona scatter и forest pack. Но сейчас могу сказать что если выбирать между экстерьером и интерьером, я выберу экстерьер. Но это тоже зависит от желания и настроение, если ты работаешь сам, ты вправе выбирать. Иногда хочется поделать интерьеры иногда наоборот, нужно соблюдать баланс. Хорошо когда есть и то и другое в одном проекте, это выглядет масштабней и более проработанным.

7. Где ищешь вдохновение для своих работ?

Все наверное стандартно как и у всех артистов:

Behance

Art station

Instagram

Arch-daily

Ronen Bekerman

3ddd

Dezeen

Leibal

CG Award ua

Также много разных фотографов ( Kim holtermand, Annabell Kutucu и тд) Ещё очень много времени провожу на стоках с фотографиями, там много всего интересного.

8. Продолжаешь ли повышать квалификацию? Повышать уровень? Каким способом? Уроки , конференции.

Да, конечно. Я в постоянном развитии, это такая сфера где нельзя остановится ) нужно постоянно усовершенствоваться и расти. Даже наоборот, если ты остановишься на слишком долгое время, придут ребята круче тебя на твоё место и тебя придётся их догонять. Каждый день кто-то делает лучше и лучше.

Способов на самом деле много, каждый выбирает для себя удобный. Кому то нравится саморазвития, кто-то только по курсам с преподавателями, вариантов много главное чтобы было желание. Сейчас все больше и больше проводится разных мероприятий на тему CG и на каждом можно почерпнуть что-то новое для себя, пообщаться с интересными людьми, поделится опытом и просто хорошо провести время. Надеюсь что это тенденция продолжится.

LAKE HOUSE

9. Что такое фрилансер в украине? Плюсы и минусы.

Не могу ответить на это вопрос сейчас. Если честно я не был долго на украинском рынке фриланса и сейчас на нем не работаю. Это было ещё в самом начале и для меня это казалось нормально. Но когда я поработал с иностранными заказчиками я понял что разница большая, во первых в отношение а во вторых в цене. Сейчас не знаю какая ситуация на украинском рынке, но хочется верить что она меняется в хорошую сторону в том числе благодаря таким площадкам как cgaward.com.ua

10. Были ли у тебя предложения уехать работать за границу? Если да то почему остался.

Да, они приходят время от времени, в последнее время часто, есть интересные предложения но со своими нюансами. У меня есть приоритетные студии в которых я бы согласился работать но нужно ещё поработать на своим портфелем, чтобы туда попасть. Поэтому я стараюсь не заострять особо внимание на каждом предложении и тщательно отношусь к этому вопросу..

11. Как предпочитаешь проводить свободное от работы время? Спорт, путешествия.

В последнее время очень мало свободного времени, постоянно что-то делаю. На самом деле даже когда я просто рисую для себя - я отдыхаю, для меня это хорошое время препровождения. Но кроме этого я стараюсь вести активный образ жизни:

Спорт зал, прогулки, отдых на природе и общение с другими людьми не из сфере архитектурной визуализации. Время от времени нужно отвлекаться, это полезно чтобы не перегореть. Да и развитие должно быть разносторонним, много ещё интересного можно найти для себя и использовать это в нашей сфере. Я люблю эксперименты и пробовать что-то новое.

CROPLAND

12. К чему стремишься в своей работе. К каким вершинам, результатам?

Всегда есть желание быть лучше, быть лучше сейчас, каждый день. Для этого нужно работать над собой и учится. Я всегда ставлю себе высокую планку и пытаюсь к ней прийти, иногда приходиться чем то жертвовать, отказываться от многого но я понимаю ради чего все это. Как таковой Вершины нету, я не собираюсь останавливаться на чем то, есть желание быть лучше каждый день а там посмотрим.

13. Пожелания, советы и напутствия зрителям.

Спасибо всем кто дочитал это до конца)

Надеюсь вам было интересно и вы почерпнули что-то для себя из этого интервью. Хочется пожелать всем крутых рендеров и не забывать что мы на самом деле художники и стоит вкладывать в каждый проект что-то творческое и художественное, это смотрится очень круто и живо а так же не бойтесь экспериментировать и пробовать что-то новое это тоже очень важно.

Всем добра!

И спасибо команде cgaward.com.ua за предоставленную возможность

GORGE

Ссылка на портфолио Романа: https://www.behance.net/huzaroman


Войтичтобы проголосовать или оставить комментарий
Подпишитесь на нашу рассылку новостей. Введите свой e-mail.
Ваш голос учтен