"The Jungle Hut" by 3Dmitri. Making of.

27 november 2019 year

Hi friends! My name is Dmitry Revyakin, but on the network I am better known as 3Dmitri. I live and work in Ukraine in the city of Dnipro. I became interested in 3D graphics back in 2007 and since 2008 I began to take orders for architectural 3D visualization. After several companies I went to freelance, where I work to this day.

In this tutorial I will try to briefly, but as useful and accessible as possible, tell about my latest work Adventure Hut. Because after the publication of this project on the network, I received many requests and reviews to do Making-off.

Idea

The idea of creating such a visualization has been in my head for a long time, but there was no time to realize it. The hero of this location was to be a young guy, modern, and not Indiana Jones, although this hero was much more likely to spin in my head.

In early January 2017, I started work, and finished it in early February. The scene creation process took 3 weeks and another 10 days rendering on my computer. One visualization was rendered from 5 to 10 hours, depending on resolution and plot. It was very important for me that I worked at Corona Renderer. She gave me a lot of technical capabilities and the result with which I was pleased, for the first time in years at Vray.

General principles of work

Now I will describe the general principles of work and philosophy, and then I will show in detail the most difficult moments of this project in my opinion.

Always, no matter what project you start, start it with a selection of examples, references. Of course, a true 3D artist should know everything, but this is not possible :) Here are some examples I picked up.

For the environment I needed water, vegetation, atmospheric features. And for the interior, of course, the interior itself, facade cladding materials, interior filling, typical of that region.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Having collected the material and having studied it, ideas appear in my head that I could implement in my project. It’s not uncommon for a good photo to become the prototype of the camera’s position in the future. A good reference is very important in the work. Then I figured the total amount of work. Since I do not have an infinite resource of rendering capacities, but have only one 4-core computer, I have to carefully calculate my power. Especially since I read about problems with people with Corona Renderer and its scatter. That it does not allow rendering large volumes, but this in the end turned out to be not true.

Project implementation

I began work with a sketch of the common territory and the hut itself.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Having built the landscape, I began to arrange trees and bushes. All the vegetation that is located near the water is laid out manually, since the scatter would have done this very ridiculously and not neatly. I myself copied and edited each plant along the river, converting them previously to a proxy.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Objects that do not need precise placement are arranged by the Corona scatter, these are background trees, ground bushes and grass, and river litter, such as branches and leaves. Each group of models has its own scatter. All 3D models were previously converted to proxies.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

I must admit, I try to never make models that are not visible on the render. This saves time and resources. An old habit from the beginning of my career, when I was still engaged in architectural visualization on a budget laptop :)

Now I will talk about the materials. The most interesting and complex in my opinion are plants, grass and materials that have a dirt map. I did not really like the dirt from Corona Renderer, apparently it has not yet been completely finalized. Very narrow range of settings.

Water, as in the examples from the Internet, I did not get much muddy from sand and clay, but transparent enough to see the bottom. The color of the water is correspondingly painted in sand and clay. Also in diffuse I added dirt, offshore the water should be darker and cloudier. The bottom I did not set too low in the same way. The river is narrow, which means it cannot be deep. Therefore, in top views, the bottom is slightly visible.

The plant material was the most difficult for me. I changed it three times completely in the process. It behaved differently depending on the lighting of the scene and the first two times I did not like it. What I understood for myself in the end. The plant material does not have transparency. It is impossible to see objects through it, however it transmits shadows and light. In Corona Renderer, for transparency, I used only Translucency! All refract settings have been turned off. And as it turned out, Translucency did a great job.

On the example of the walls of the house I will talk about the material corona dirt. It turned out that the Corona dirt does not like a large number of ribs in the model, he perceives each rib as an object for applying dirt. The 3D model should be roughly speaking with smooth and sharp corners. If I apply external dirt to a dense mesh apple, it will completely contaminate it. Therefore, I used external dirt only in rectangular models, such as boards, fireplaces, glass window frames and pt. As for the walls themselves. That is for them, I conceived painted boards with dark red paint, with small traces of exploitation at the edges, roughly the paint peeled off .

For lighting, I used different HDRI and vray physical cameras. The HDRI card settings are default, as well as the camera settings, I changed only the corona frame buffer settings, such as exposure, contrast, warm or cold tones, and more. A few words about the choice of positions for cameras since I consider this an important aspect of the work. The main rule that I try to use is always the maximum volume for each object. I position the camera and the sun so that each object in the scene has maximum depth. It is desirable that it be lit and in the shade at the same time.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

As you can see from these pictures, each object in them has light and shadow on it, and accordingly has a great depth. This gives overall depth to the entire render. This does not always come out and not everywhere, but this is what I try to observe. For example, if there is natural street light. It illuminates the room enough and creates such an effect on the objects, then I add the artificial one conditionally, it illuminates itself, as it were, simply improving the already created atmosphere. Some kind of light should always be the main one, and some should complement.

Also for the first time I practiced corona fog. A very interesting system, but in my opinion it is not finalized again, very narrow settings. In some pictures, I added fog in Photoshop, by the way, there’s almost no Photoshop here, all renders are 95% clean.

Conclusion

In general, to implement such a project was a very interesting adventure for me. Since I work more with architectural 3D visualization, such a project as something new. The most difficult thing I encountered in the process was the large volume of the scene because of this, it constantly hung and crashed, even the proxies of all plants did not save, but the result was worth it.

Lastly, I want to wish everyone only successful renderings. Do not be afraid to take up work even if it seems difficult and unrealistic for you, the main thing is to approach this project responsibly and think over everything before you start, as they say 7 times measure one, cut.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Views: 1292

Loginto vote or comment
Read more
Autumn mood forest interior. Making of interior by 3Dmitri.

Autumn mood forest interior. Making of interior by 3Dmitri.

Hello. My name is Dmitri Revyakin (3Dmitri), I am a CG Artist and Architectural visualizer from Ukraine (Dnipro). I got a lot of questions about my last work "Autumn mood forest interior design" on the net, so I decided to do a little Making of. In this ltutorial I will show the most important points in my opinion.

11 january
Making of "Fireplace" . Tutorial from Dmitry Sсhuka

Making of "Fireplace" . Tutorial from Dmitry Sсhuka

Hello. My name is Dmitry Schuka and I would like to tell you about my work Fireplace

26 march 2019 year
Your vote counted

"Хижина в джунглях" от 3Dmitri. Making of.

27 ноября, среда

Привет, друзья! Меня зовут Ревякин Дмитрий, но в сети я больше известен как 3Dmitri. Живу я и работаю в Украине в городе Днепр. Увлекся я 3D графикой еще в далеком 2007 году и с 2008 начал принимать заказы на архитектурную 3D визуализацию. После нескольких компаний ушел в фриланс где работаю по сей день.

В этой статье я постараюсь коротко, но максимально полезно и доступно рассказать о моей последней работе «Хижина искателя приключений». Потому что после публикации этого проекта в сети, я получил много просьб и отзывов сделать Making-off.

Идея

Идея о создании такой визуализации крутилась в моей голове давно, но не было времени ее воплотить. Героем этой локации должен был стать молодой парень, современный, а не Индиана Джонс, хотя этот герой на много чаще крутился у меня в голове.

В начале января 2017 года я начал работу, и закончил ее в начале февраля. Процесс создания сцены занял 3 недели и еще 10 дней рендеринг на моем компьютере. Одна визуализация рендерилась от 5 до 10 часов, в зависимости от разрешения и сюжета. Очень важным для меня было то, что я работал в Corona Renderer. Она дала мне много технических возможностей и результат которым я был доволен, впервые за годы работы в Vray.

Общие принципы работы

Теперь я опишу общие принципы работы и философию, а затем детально покажу самые сложные на мой взгляд моменты этого проекта.

Всегда, какой бы проект вы не начинали, начните ее с подбора примеров, референсов. Конечно настоящий 3D художник должен все знать, но это не возможно :) Вот какие примеры подобрал я.

Для окружения мне нужна была вода, растительность, атмосферные особенности. А для интерьера конечно сам интерьер, материалы облицовки фасадов наполнение интерьера, характерные для того региона.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Собрав материал и изучив его, в голове появляются идеи, которые я мог бы воплотить в своем проекте. Не редко хорошая фотография становиться прототипом позиции камеры в будущем. Хороший референс очень важен в работе. Дальше я прикинул общий объем работы. Так как я не обладаю бесконечным ресурсом мощностей для рендеринга, а имею всего один 4 ядерный компьютер, рассчитывать свои силы приходиться внимательно. Тем более я читал про проблемы у людей с Corona Renderer и ее скатером. Что он не позволяет рендерить большие обьемы, но это в итоге оказалось не правдой.

Реализация проекта

Работу я начал с наброска общей территории и самой хижины.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Выстроив ландшафт я начал расставлять деревья и кусты. Вся растительность которая расположена у воды выложена в ручную, так как скатер сделал бы это очень нелепо и не аккуратно. Я сам копировал и редактировал каждое растение вдоль реки, конверсировав их предварительно в прокси.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Объекты не нуждающиеся в точной расстановке расставлены Corona скатером, это деревья второго плана, наземные кусты и трава, и речной мусор, такой как ветки и листья. Для каждой группы моделей свой скатер. Все 3Д модели предварительно конвертировал в прокси.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Должен признаться я стараюсь никогда не делать модели которые не видны на рендере. Это экономит время и ресурсы. Старая привычка еще с начала моей карьеры, когда я еще занимался архитектурной визуализацией на бюджетном ноутбуке :)

Теперь я расскажу о материалах. Самые интересные на мой взгляд и сложные это растения, трава и материалы имеющие dirt карту. Мне не очень понравился dirt от Corona Renderer, видимо он еще не совсем доработан. Очень узкий круг настроек.

Вода, как в примерах из интернета у меня получилась не много мутная от песка и глины, но достаточно прозрачная чтобы было видно дно. Цвет воды соответственно окрашен так же в песок и глину. Так же в diffuse я добавил dirt, у берегов вода должна быть темнее и мутнее. Дно я расположил не слишком низко так же. Река узкая, а значит глубокой быть не может. Поэтому на видах сверху дно немного просматривается.

Материал растений оказался для меня самый сложный. Я менял его трижды полностью в процессе работы. Он вел себя по-разному в зависимости от освещения сцены и первые два раза мне он не понравился. Что я понял для себя в итоге. Материал растения не имеет прозрачности. Через него нельзя увидеть объекты однако он пропускает тени и свет. В Corona Renderer для прозрачности я использовал только Translucency! Все настройки refract были выключены. И как оказалось Translucency прекрасно выполнила эту задачу.

На примере стен домика расскажу о материале corona dirt. Оказалось что короновский дерт не любит большого количества ребер в модели, каждое ребро он воспринимает как предмет для нанесения грязи. 3Д модель должна быть грубо говоря с ровными и острыми углами. Если я нанесу внешний dirt на яблоко с плотной сеткой он загрязнит его полностью. Поэтому внешний dirt я использовал только в прямоугольных моделях, таких как доски, камин, оконные рамы стекла и пт. Что же касается непосредственно стен. То для них я задумал крашенные тёмно-красной краской доски, с небольшими следами эксплуатации на краях, грубо говоря слезла краска.

Для освещения я использовал разные HDRI и vray physical камеры. Настройки HDRI карт дефолтные, как и настройки камер, я менял только настройки corona frame buffer такие, как экспозиция, контраст, теплые или холодные тона и прочее. Пару слов про выбор позиций для камер так как считаю это важным аспектом работы. Главное правило которое я стараюсь использовать всегда это максимальный объем для каждого объекта. Располагаю камеру и солнце так, чтобы каждый обьект в сцене имел максимальную глубину. Желательно чтоб он был освещен и находился в тени одновременно.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Как видно по этим картинкам каждый объект в них имеет на себе свет и тень, и соответственно имеет большую глубину. Это придает общую глубину всему рендеру. Не всегда это выходит и не везде, но это то что я стараюсь соблюдать. К примеру если есть естественный уличный свет. Он освещает помещение достаточно и создает такой эффект на объектах, то искусственный я добавляю чисто условно, он освещает как бы сам себя, просто улучшая уже созданную атмосферу. Всегда какой-то свет должен быть основной, а какой-то дополнять.

Так же впервые я практиковал corona fog. Очень интересная система, но на мой взгляд снова не доработана, очень узкие настройки. На некоторых картинках я добавлял туман в фотошопе, Фотошопа кстати тут почти нет, все рендеры на 95% чистые.

Заключение

В целом осуществить такой проект оказалось очень интересным приключением для меня. Поскольку я больше работаю с архитектурной 3Д визуализацией, такой проект как что-то новое. Самое сложное с чем я столкнулся в процессе, был большой объем сцены из-за этого она постоянно подвисала и вылетала, не спасали даже прокси всех растений, но результат того стоил.

На последок всем хочу пожелать всем только удачных рендеров. Не бойтесь браться за работу даже если она кажется сложной и нереальной для вас, главное подойти к этому проекту ответственно и все продумать перед началом, как говориться 7 раз отмерь один, отрежь.

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer

Хижина в джунглях 3Dmitri hut in jungle adventurer


Войтичтобы проголосовать или оставить комментарий
Подпишитесь на наши новости. Введите e-mail.
Ваш голос учтен